Senate majority leader Dumped APC for PDP, resigns position

Senate majority leader Dumped APC for PDP, resigns position

The Senator representing Kebbi North senatorial District who is also the Senate Majority Leader, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi, has decamped to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Because of his defection, Abdullahi likewise resigned his position as the Senate Majority Leader.

Read Also: Ogbeide Ihama, Dan orbih, others set to dump PDP for NNPP after losing senatorial bid

This was contained in a letter issued and addressed to the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, and read on the floor during plenary on Tuesday.

The letter read to some patt, “I write to inform you regarding the withdrawal of my membership of the All Progressives Congress and subsequently resigned my situation as the Majority Leader of the ninth Senate.

Senate majority leader Dumped APC for PDP, resigns position
Senator Yahaya Abdullahi,

“I came at this conclusion after an extremely hard battle with my soul and feelings. It is either to stay on the side of my people, or to look the alternate way selfishly. All politics is local. I can’t consequently, with a clear mind, keep on working for the outcome of this organization at the centre, while individuals of my state, my primary constituency, keep suffering from miserable neediness and desperation under the mismanagement and control of a tyrant.

“I have in this manner chose to set up my shelter with the Peoples Democratic Party to unite with my countrymen at home who are battling against inadequacy, burden and infringement of democratic norms, principles and practices.”

Senator Abdullahi, who participated in the Kebbi governorship primary election on the platform of APC, scored zero vote, an exercise which he had since rejected and described as shambolic and a child’s play.

Another senator, Adamu Aliero representing Kebbi Central additionally offered his resignation letter on Tuesday.

Read Also: BREAKING: Peter Obi resigns from PDP

The resignation of the APC Senators brings the complete number of PDP Senators to 39 from the past 38, with the prohibition of Abaribe who is set to officially decamp from the opposition to APGA on Wednesday.

Meanwhile,  the vacancy created by their exit from senate’s leadership positions are yet to be replaced.

The vacant positions do not call for election on the floor of the senate, rather, fall on the senate caucus of the zone that produced the principal officer to select a replacement from their zone. The caucus is expected to write their party about the nomination for onward transmission to the Senate President for announcement.

Leave a Reply