Ogbeide Ihama, Dan orbih, others set to dump PDP for NNPP after losing senatorial bid

Following the disappointment of the individual from House of Representatives for Oredo Federal Constituency, Hon. Ogbeide Ihama to get the ticket of the Edo State Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for Edo South Senatorial zone, Vice Chairman of the PDP in the South, Chief Dan Orbih, nearby Hon. Ogbeide Ihama and others from the PDP devoted to Orbih have make arrangements to dump the party for New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

Read Also: Edo PDP holds primaries across 18 LGAs

Hon. Ogbeide Ihama who just secure only a solitary vote out of the 227 votes cast at the Daniel Obiora-drove five-man PDP Senatorial Primary Election Committee for Edo South Senatorial ticket led on Monday, May 23, 2022, at the indoor games complex of the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin City.

Having lost his ticket, the two-term individual from the House of Representatives for Oredo Federal Constituency nearby, Chief Dan Orbih, Harrison Omagbon and Hillary Otsu have reached a head of the NNPP, Ibrahim Kwankwaso in front of the transition to join the party.

Read Also: The Mistake/Miscalculation PDP Orhionmwon Leaders/Delegates Must not Make

According to a source close to Hon. Ihama, the powerful conversations with Ibrahim Kwankwaso on the designs to dump the PDP for NNPP integrate an arrangement for Harrison Omagon to go about as Edo State Chairman of the NNPP, while Hillary Otsu goes about as Secretary, and Ogbeide Ihama as the Edo South Senatorial Candidate of the NNPP for the 2023 races.

The senator representing Edo South Senatorial District on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Mathew Urhoghide where also knock out as he attempt to get back to the Senate for the third time in 2023

Urhoghide, who is the Chairman of Senate Committee on Public Accounts, challenged for primaries with four other aspirants, yet at the same missed out.

The lawmaker was first chosen into the Upper regulative Chamber in 2015 and returned in 2019 as a positioning Senator and hadn’t decamp to any political party ever since then.

As per the outcomes got by our correspondent on Monday, Senator Urhoghide got 102 to come next behind Mr Mathew Iduoriyekemwen who scored 113 votes.

Other three Senatorial aspirants who remotely came behind are: Isaiah Osifo, 8 votes; Dr William Ogbeide, 2 votes, while Mr Ogbeide ihama scored 1 vote.

With this turn of events, Mr Mathew Iduoriyekemwen become the PDP flag bearer for Edo South senatorial District, that would slug it out with different rivals at the 2023 general election to represent
Edo South, which is the Benin speaking area of the State

An attempt to get his response on his loss was fruitless as he didn’t pick calls.

Leave a Reply